souffle

image principale
année de création
2013
description

"souffle" has been awarded the Swiss Dance Award 2015 as "an outstanding current dance work" of the period 2013-15.

"A striking, exquisitely composed choreographic work that embodies both the lightness and transience of being and the existential awareness of a great shared movement in breath, voice and dance. A captivating magic runs through this choreographic and musical production, imbued with a sensitive dance quality. ‘souffle’ perhaps symbolises and stands for the many years Brigitte Meuwly and Antonio Bühler have spent working together, for their inexhaustibility. DA MOTUS! is highly admired internationally as a company that again and again opens up new and original gateways to dance, especially with its outdoor projects."

(Brigitta Luisa Merki, member of the Federal Dance Jury, Swiss Dance Awards 2015)

Brigitte Meuwly and Antonio Bühler were invited by Philippe Savoy, director of the Chamber Chorus Zeugma, to create an artistic collaboration, inspired by the local (Fribourg), choral tradition. They have risen to the challenge of uniting contemporary choreography and vocal creation based on an original score, composed by Caroline Charrière, around the fundamental role that breath represents for both modes of expression : dance and song.

The dancers start to move their bodies into a symbolic journey of life, brought alive by their breathing, the essence of our existence. Breath is incarnated into the dancers and finds its resonance and vitality as it courses through their bodies.

Spontaneous harmonies and orchestrated tensions emerge, generating bizarre images and sometimes provoking ambiguous sensations. The ethereal and celestial quality of the singing essentially clashes with the carnal and sensual character of the dance. « souffle » suggests to us through certain of its movements, that it is through the sexual union that the spirit is able to incarnate.

Dance and music work together in osmosis, counterpoint and complicity. Thus, bodies and voices are attracted and repelled, stimulating exchanges and emotions to reach the ephemeral realms, where everything is dissolved, where breath leaves its earthly form to regain its unknowable origin.

vidéo(s)
informations

artistic direction

Antonio Bühler, Brigitte Meuwly

choreography

Antonio Bühler, Brigitte Meuwly, in collaboration with the dancers

dance

Azusa Nishimura, Coralie Merle, Ismael Oiartzabal, Paul Girard, Vittorio Bertolli

original music

Caroline Charrière

music direction

Caroline Charrière with Philippe Savoy

recorded sing

Choeur de chambre Zeugma : André Merz, Clémence Hirt, Elsa Piller, Etienne Steckler, Francine Humbert, Jean-Claude Charrez, Joëlle Delley, Lucile Dessibourg, Marie-Françoise Schouwey, Michael Beer, Philippe Jacquiard, Philippe Savoy

lights and stage management

Daniel Müller

costumes

Brigitte Meuwly

music record

Artlab

production assistance

Danilo Cagnazzo

coproduction

DA MOTUS!, Choeur de chambre Zeugma, Equilibre-Nuithonie Fribourg in the frame of "RésiDanse fribourgeoise"

supports

Department of Culture Canton Fribourg, Loterie Romande, Coriolis Fribourg, Pro Helvetia - Swiss Arts Council, Equilibre-Nuithonie - Fribourg Foundation, Municipality of Givisiez, Swiss Authors Society 2012 for choreographical creation (SSA), Agglo Fribourg, Fondation Ernst Göhner Foundation, UBS Culture Foundation, Nicati-de-Luze Foundation

Dates

Date Place Infos | reservation
Wolfsburg - Germany Scharoun Theater Wolfsburg
Chur - Switzerland TanZeit-ZeiTanz Festival
Lugano - Switzerland Festa Danzante - Fête de la Danse, Teatro Foce
Winterthur - Switzerland Tanzfest - Fête de la Danse, Thaeter am Gleis
Nicossia - Cyprus 19th Cyprus Contemporary Dance Festival
Limassol - Cyprus 19th Cyprus Contemporary Dance Festival
Steckborn - Switzerland tanz: now Festival (Phönix Theater)
Steckborn - Switzerland tanz: now Festival (Phönix Theater)
Neuchâtel - Switzerland ADN - Hiver de Danses 2014/2015
Neuchâtel - Switzerland ADN - Hiver de Danses 2014/2015

souffle

image principale
année de création
2013
description

"souffle" a reçu le Prix suisse de danse 2015, comme "oeuvre particulièrement marquante de la création actuelle de danse" (période 2013-15).

"Une œuvre chorégraphique prenante, composée sur une trame fine, qui incarne aussi bien la légèreté et la finitude de l’être que la conscience existentielle d’un grand mouvement exécuté en commun par le souffle, la voix et la danse. Une magie fascinante parcourt cette œuvre totale, portée par une rare et émouvante qualité chorégraphique. « souffle » apparaît comme une parabole du long travail artistique, du large souffle de Brigitte Meuwly et d’Antonio Bühler. DA MOTUS! a une réputation internationale, en tant que compagnie qui, grâce à son originalité et en particulier à ses projets réalisés en plein air, ne cesse d’ouvrir de nouveaux accès à la danse."

(Brigitta Luisa Merki, membre du jury fédéral pour la danse, Prix Suisses de Danse 2015)

Sollicités par Philippe Savoy, directeur du Chœur de chambre Zeugma, dans le cadre d’une collaboration artistique s’inspirant de la tradition chorale locale, Antonio Bühler et Brigitte Meuwly ont relevé le défi de réunir chorégraphie et création vocale sur une partition originale, signée Caroline Charrière, autour du thème essentiel que représente le souffle pour ces deux modes d’expression.

Les corps débutent un parcours de vie symbolique, comme habités et animés par cette respiration, essence de notre existence. Le souffle s’incarne et trouve sa résonance et sa force vitale au travers du jeu des danseurs.

L’émergence d’harmonies spontanées et de tensions orchestrées génère des images parfois décalées provoquant des sensations d’ambiguïtés. La qualité éthérée et céleste du chant se frotte au caractère charnel et sensuel de la danse. Souffle nous suggère alors par certains de ses mouvements, que c’est par l’union sexuelle que l’esprit parvient à s’incarner.

Mouvements et musique œuvrent en osmose, en contrepoids et en complicité. C’est ainsi que les corps et les voix s’attirent et se repoussent, stimulant échanges et émotions pour aboutir dans l’éphémère, où tout se dissout, où le souffle quitte le concret pour regagner son origine insaisissable.

vidéo(s)
informations

direction artistique

Antonio Bühler, Brigitte Meuwly

chorégraphie

Antonio Bühler, Brigitte Meuwly, en collaboration avec les danseurs

danse

Azusa Nishimura, Coralie Merle, Ismael Oiartzabal, Paul Girard, Vittorio Bertolli

musique originale

Caroline Charrière

direction musicale

Caroline Charrière avec Philippe Savoy

chant enregistré

Choeur de chambre Zeugma : André Merz, Clémence Hirt, Elsa Piller, Etienne Steckler, Francine Humbert, Jean-Claude Charrez, Joëlle Delley, Lucile Dessibourg, Marie-Françoise Schouwey, Michael Beer, Philippe Jacquiard, Philippe Savoy

lumières et régie

Daniel Müller

costumes

Brigitte Meuwly

enregistrement musical

Artlab

assistanat de production

Danilo Cagnazzo

coproduction

DA MOTUS!, Equilibre-Nuithonie Fribourg dans le cadre de "RésiDanse fribourgeoise", Choeur de chambre Zeugma

soutiens

Service Culture Canton Fribourg, Loterie Romande, Coriolis Fribourg, Pro Helvetia Fondation suisse pour la culture, Fondation Equilibre-Nuithonie, Société Suisse des Auteurs dans le cadre des bourses 2012 pour la création chorégraphique, Commune de Givisiez, Agglo Fribourg, Fondation Ernst Göhner, Fondation UBS pour la Culture, Fondation Nicati-de Luze

Dates

Date Lieu Infos | reservation
Wolfsburg - Germany Scharoun Theater Wolfsburg
Chur - Switzerland TanZeit-ZeiTanz Festival
Lugano - Switzerland Festa Danzante - Fête de la Danse, Teatro Foce
Winterthur - Switzerland Tanzfest - Fête de la Danse, Thaeter am Gleis
Nicossia - Cyprus 19th Cyprus Contemporary Dance Festival
Limassol - Cyprus 19th Cyprus Contemporary Dance Festival
Steckborn - Switzerland tanz: now Festival (Phönix Theater)
Steckborn - Switzerland tanz: now Festival (Phönix Theater)
Neuchâtel - Switzerland ADN - Hiver de Danses 2014/2015
Neuchâtel - Switzerland ADN - Hiver de Danses 2014/2015